«

»

Aug 23

Earth Day Video is Up

On April 22, 2012, people gathered all across the nation (plus groups in Spain, Costa Rica, and Kazakhstan) to sing Woody Guthrie’s “This Land Is Your Land” in the same key (D) and at the same time (noon Pacific, 1 pm Mountain, 2 pm Central, 3 pm Eastern). Hali Hammer created and organized the project, and received 32 videos for the montage you see here. For full performances of the groups and other information and background about Sing Out for Earth Day, visit this link on the Occupella website:http://www.occupella.org/drupal/?q=sing-out-for-earth-day-videos.. July 14th was the 100th anniversary of Woody Guthrie’s birth.

I’m proud to have had a small hand in the project, being one of the singers on stage in San Francisco, contributing a few seconds of video, and lending minor technical advice to Hali Hammer, who did all the heavy lifting with the production both of the event and of the video.

Leave a Reply