Category: My Soap Box

Education as a constitutional right?

Bob Moses, the civil rights leader of the 1960s, is in town and I had the privilege of participating in an informal evening with him and about 30 others at the home of a friend in North Oakland.  The event was billed as a fundraiser for Ron Bridgeforth — more about that later — but …

Continue reading

A Courageous Voice for Peace

Miko Peled, the son of an Israeli general, spoke at Berkeley Community College yesterday evening, and I listened.  Peled, born and raised in Jerusalem, a European Jew from a long line of Zionist militarists, dissents strongly from the official line about Israel.  In a 45-minute presentation, he punctured the myth of the Israeli state as …

Continue reading

Happy Birthday to Occupy

The wandering minstrels of Occupella, or some of them, gathered this afternoon at a Wells Fargo branch in the Fillmore District of San Francisco.  With the help of several sweet-voiced volunteers, we serenaded the bank’s employees, customers, and passers-by with old standards like Take Me Out of the Big Banks, Pay Up Your Corporate Tax, …

Continue reading

Tax the Rich Demo One Year Old

The Tax the Rich demonstration on upper Solano Avenue in Berkeley celebrated its first birthday this afternoon, and Occupella was there.  The demonstration, at the old Oaks Theatre across the street from a Private Client (read: loaded) branch of Chase, features signs urging higher tax rates on corporations and wealthy individuals, among other causes.  Numerous …

Continue reading

Transcription of Makana’s “We Are the Many”

Makana’s performance of “We Are the Many” is one of the great moments of courage in the history of music.  Last November, the 33-year old Hawaiian singer and slack-key guitar virtuoso was invited to play dinner music at the Asia-Pacific Economic Summit in Honolulu. With President Obama and other heads of state feeding their faces, …

Continue reading

How Rich is that Romney in the Window?

How rich is that Romney in the window? He tells such a waggely tale How rich is that Romney in the window? He looks like a well-nourished male How rich is that Romney in the window? I’d sure like to know all the facts He always steps out in a limo But only paid pennies …

Continue reading

Earth Day Video is Up

On April 22, 2012, people gathered all across the nation (plus groups in Spain, Costa Rica, and Kazakhstan) to sing Woody Guthrie’s “This Land Is Your Land” in the same key (D) and at the same time (noon Pacific, 1 pm Mountain, 2 pm Central, 3 pm Eastern). Hali Hammer created and organized the project, …

Continue reading